Brock Lesnar vs. Alistair Overeem

Fuck everything. I’m incredibly excited. This weekend’s slate of the unknown has me reeling.

I’m so damn ready for Brock Lesnar to fight Alistair Overeem. I’ve been excited since your higher power knows when. I’ve been a Lesnar fan ever since he stepped foot in the WWE in 2002, and when he ventured over to the UFC, I was enthralled when the dude captured the heavyweight championship.

He’s a resilient fighter and he treats adversity like it’s his bitch. After a second stint with diverticulitis, he’s making his return to the octagon this Friday night.

I hope he beats Overeem to earn a shot at Junior Dos Santos’s heavyweight title. Dos Santos beat Cain Velasquez (who beat Lesnar in October 2010) in November in about a minute and four seconds to capture the heavyweight title.

Overeem is flying under the radar, but he’s packing the punches in the verbal game leading up to this highly heralded fight. He’s a big Dutch-Jamaican that’s looking to silence the critics. If he does, he does. That’s cool. I just won’t care (as much) about Overeem potentially facing Dos Santos for the title as I would if Lesnar wins.

There are fighters that simply entice me to watch their fights because they have a draw (charisma) or exciting fighting style to them. Lesnar is one of those fighters. My other favorites involve Forrest Griffin, Anderson Silva and Chael Sonnen.

This Friday night: UFC, IHOP and a road trip fueled by caffeine. Bring it.

Leave a Reply

