Merry Christmas

It’s that time of year again. Damn, how could it be? It feels like yesterday was Christmas 2010.

Here we are, another Christmas, yet again close to approaching another year, which signifies an end and a beginning. An end to one year and a beginning to another.

During Christmas 2008, I thought I had my life figured out. I was naive. I didn’t know shit, but I’ve learned a lot about life over the past three years. I still don’t know shit, but I know a ‘little’ bit more now!

Considering the differences between Christmas 2011 and Christmas 2008 in my life, I should be more depressed than what I am. I’m not, though. I’m on a mission to become a resilient, unbreakable optimist. This is the first Christmas I’ve been single since 2007, and even things were complicated back then, so I’ll safely say 2005. That was six years ago.

Don’t get me wrong, though, folks. Relationships are not the be all/end all of things in life. Your significant other should be simply an accessory of you. You, yourself, as a whole, should find your own way to be complete, to be happy with yourself. That’s the number one thing that’s important in your life. Find something to be happy about, from within, and you can be. It just takes work, patience and discipline.

The relationship I had was nice. It was a learning experience, and there was a lot of dramatic events that unfolded over the years I had with my ex girlfriend, but it was nice (for the most part). I feel different this year.

Yeah, honestly, I feel a void, but it’s only because of how I’m adjusting to being a new man. I wish that my father were still here, because I’d love to have some wisdom be imparted to me. The one thing I can think of right now is, “Dude, you’re young — go out, meet plenty of girls and never put one on a pedestal in this stage of your life!”

I often sit down and reminisce over how ‘good I had it’ and how ‘lucky I was’ during the past couple of years, but why aren’t I still lucky? I mean, I have my health, a great family and a couple of awesome close friends.

Why is it that a lot of people tend to focus on the negative aspects of memories? Sometimes we look back at fond memories, exaggerate them and in turn we depress ourselves. I’ve done it.

It’s time to stop worrying about the past. It happened and it cannot be changed.

I talked to a midget in the books/magazines section of Target on this day two years ago. Christmas Eve 2009. Life is a series of random moments and encounters, although many moments and encounters aren’t so random.

Merry Christmas to all.

Leave a Reply

